Stephen Curry has been ranked among the best point guards in NBA history after the fourth championship.

Stephen Curry is the final MVP and won his fourth NBA title in his career.

Now that Golden State Warriors star Stephen Curry has won his fourth NBA title and his first Bill Russell trophy as the final MVP, how high is he among the best point guards ever?

The long-awaited Finals MVP Award filled the gap in Curry’s resume. He was named two regular season MVPs and was nominated eight times by the All-NBA Team (four in the starting lineup), making him the best three-point scorer in NBA history.

He was unanimously named MVP for helping the Warriors win an astonishing 73 games during the season when ESPN ranked fourth in the NBA’s highest ranking point guard in 2016. It was.

Since then, curry has all been achieved, but it’s no longer a problem. When recently ranking the highest 76 players in NBA history, Curry was ranked third among the point guards after Magic Johnson and Oscar Robertson.

It’s time to reassess where Curry is ranked among the best ever in another title campaign under his belt.

Currys ranking by winning title

In connection with this 2016 ranking, we have shown additional championship ratings. It uses the website to aggregate the wins estimated from the beginning of NBA history and use the individual awards to calculate the number of championships a player has won. With another average team throughout your career, tailored to the quality of the league.

Winning another title doesn’t affect Curry’s score, especially because we’re looking at the player’s performance, not the team’s results. The final MVP is also not taken into account in the calculation.

Still, Curry’s 0.18 Plus this year’s title was 1.85 in his career, ranking 17th in history. Curry will certainly rise after the post-season campaign, but that’s where we ended up in our latest ranking (16th).

If it seems too low, remember that Curry is still building his legacy. He is likely to pass Dirk Nowitzki (1.9) next season and is likely to be in the top 10 when he finishes.

Curry is already in the top 15 in additional playoff championships based on prize voting. He has a lower rank in the regular season. This is partly because he hasn’t played as long as the best player ever. Of the 16 players ahead of Curry, 14 played at least 34,500 minutes in the regular season (including Julius Erving’s ABA career). Curry counts at 28,361.

Quietly in the top 3 shipowners

The metric for summing votes and titles matches the best three point guards in history, all recognizable in one name (Magic, Oscar, Steph).

Apart from the combo guard Jerry West, the other point guards haven’t reached the same level as these three MVPs. All of them were post-season successes in a way that other MVP-winning point guards (James Harden, Steve Nash, Russell Westbrook) couldn’t match.

At some point, Thomas’ supporters John Stockton or Chris Paul were able to challenge curry on the basis of longevity. This was refuted by Curry, who continued to play at a high level in his mid-30s. Paul and Stockton still outperform him in 11 All-NBA appearances, but Curry is now ahead of Thomas (5), comparable to the legend of the 1990-winning Finals MVP Pistons.

Steph vs. Oscar Conflict

The best comparison at the moment about the greatness of curry as a point guard is Robertson, who won a single MVP (1963-64), but is about the same as curry in terms of MVP statistics. Three from curry.

Given all the attention that Curry has never won the Finals MVP, note that Robertson was one of the two players in front of him in the Top 76 ranking without that achievement. Is fun.

The Finals MVP wasn’t decisive for Robertson, as his Cincinnati Royals had never won the title in their heyday and were often overtaken by the Russell’s Celtics dynasty. When Robertson won the Milwaukee Bucks title in 1971, he was second only to the great Kareem Abdul Jabbar, who was nominated for the Finals MVP.

The additional titles bring an interesting contrast between Curry and Robertson. Oscar had a big lead during the title’s regular season and was added to his long career (Robertson’s 43,886 minutes came in 22nd place), but Curry thanks to the long-term performance of the Golden State playoffs. Dominate in the playoffs.

The sum of the two players is virtually the same, with Curry (1.85) surpassing Robertson (1.82) after that postseason. Robertson was ranked 9th in the Top 76 ranking (2nd higher than 2016), but Curry was noted on average for triple-doubles, probably when Westbrook joined the two player groups. The next time I vote again, in front of him.

Can Steph reach magic?

ESPN’s Kendrick Perkins began discussing last month that if Curry was nominated for the Finals MVP, he would overtake Johnson to become the best point guard in NBA history.

For additional titles, this is still undisputed. Despite being forced to retire at the age of 31 when he was diagnosed with HIV, he returned to just 32 games in 1995-96, but Johnson still has a big lead over Curry. With an additional 2.43 championship, he is in eighth place in history.

Curry may catch up with Johnson, but not always. Curry needs four more seasons to fill the gap, like the 2021-22 season. This means playing at the All-NBA level until the age of 38. More realistically, curry needs to have a few more seasons like this and continue to add value at a lower level until the 40s.

Aside from health, Curry’s final additional title is during the period he wants to continue playing, as his shooting is likely to remain relevant even if his physical abilities diminish. It depends a lot.

Still, Johnson is the only point guard that Curry may not be able to match in terms of maximum. Johnson is a three-time MVP, and in the 1980s the Lakers won five titles and was the final MVP many times. Due to its success and the bonus of the year Johnson was unable to play, Johnson was ranked 4th in the 76 rankings. number one. It’s probably higher than curry ever gets.

But curry has a habit of proving that we are wrong. This time, after participating in the lottery for two years, he led the Warriors to another title.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.